Icon Icon Icon Icon Icon Icon

Auto Insurance

Auto Insurance Quote Forms

Looking for coverage? Click any of the following links to submit a quote for quick, accurate and affordable rates.

Auto Insurance Customer Service Options

Self policy service any time of the day, directly from our website. To request a policy change on your account, click any of the following policy service options below.

Auto Insurance Information

Florida Car Insurance

Happily, referred to as the Sunshine state, cruising with the top down enjoying all the sights is a must. However, before you head out on the sunny Florida highways, be sure the right auto insurance policy covers you. As a vehicle owner in Florida, it is required by law that you carry at least the state minimum required coverages. 


For Floridians, the bare minimum car insurance requirement is:


     $10,000 property damage liability (mandatory)

     $10,000 personal injury protection (mandatory)

     $10,000 bodily injury per person per accident

     $20,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident



Understanding what your policy covers is essential. For example, property damage liability provides protection for damage you cause to someone's else's vehicle or property, not your own. Bodily injury coverage pays for your legal responsibility to others for injuries they sustain in an auto accident. While personal injury protection provides coverage to you when you are injured. 


Florida does not require you to carry additional coverage such as Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist or Collision and Comprehensive. However, if you own a home or other asset, carrying more than the required minimum can help you protect yourself from a substantial financial loss. Here are some things to consider when trying to decide to add more the Florida minimum required coverages.


     If your car is stolen or you are in an accident, it can be costly to fix or replace it.

     If any passengers or you are injured in an accident, medical costs can be super expensive.

     If you or your car is the cause of property damage or bodily injury to others, you may face a lawsuit for much more than you're worth and even future earnings.


Questions to Ask When Shopping for Florida Auto Insurance

One of the many benefits of working with an independent agent like S.E. Benchmark is that we work with multiple auto insurance carriers and can shop for the perfect auto insurance for your needs. To help us find the best policy for your situation. Here are some things to consider as you prepare for the conversation:

     How much can you afford to pay if you get in an accident? (To keep premiums low consider a higher deductible and be willing to pay more out of your own pocket for repairs.)

     What is the insurance company's service level and their ability to pay claims?

     What discounts are available? (Ask about good driver, student, and multiple policy discounts.)

     What's the procedure for turning in and settling a claim? (Who do you call and what happens after you file a claim?)

Penalties for Failing to Florida's Minimum Auto Insurance

By law, you are required to carry proof of Florida car insurance in your car and show it if a police officer asks to see it. Not doing so can result in fines of $150 up to $500 and driver's license suspension of up to three years. If you cause an accident without auto insurance, you can be held liable for all costs associated with the other driver's bodily and property injuries. Plus, you could lose your driving privileges until those damages are paid.


SR-22 and FR-44 Filings for Florida Drivers

In Florida, drivers that have been charged with certain violations, such as driving without insurance or driving under the influence, may be required by law to buy SR-22 or FR-44 insurance in order to get their licenses reinstated. An SR-22 or FR-44 filing is proof of coverage that we send to the Florida DMV on your behalf to show you have the state-required liability insurance. Requirements and costs may vary, but you'll typically be required to have an SR-22 or FR-44 filing for three years. For more information, please contact our office.


Looking for a Commercial Auto Policy?

We got you covered. In addition to personal auto policies, we also provide Florida business owners the commercial auto coverage they need to protect their interests on the road. Not sure if you need a commercial auto policy, read about the differences between commercial and personal auto insurance here.

© Copyright. All rights reserved. Powered by Insurance Website Builder.